Who will win the OAPBA second half?

With only a handful of games left in the second half, the Otters, Whatevers, and Tsunamis all have a shot of winning the second half title to face the Taz Devils in the 2022 OAPBA World Series.

Here’s a quick rundown on the records of all three franchises in championship situations:

Jonathan Stillwell’s Otters joined the league in 2011. Under Stilwell, the Otters have won  three championships (2015, 2018, 2020) and were swept by the Beefers in the 2014 series

Walt Taylor’s Whatevers franchise has won five championships, three of them under Walt’s guidance. In 2006 and 2007, Walt guided the Whats over the Gashouse Gang 4-1 and Platoon II 4-3 to win back-to-back championships.The Whats then lost three World Series appearances against the Platoon II in 2008, 2011, and 2014. They won their most recent championship in 2016, winning both halves.

Craig Dolan’s Tsunamis have appeared in the OAPBA World Series in the past two seasons, but have come up empty in both appearances. The Asians lost to the Otters in seven games in 2020 (the famous Byron Buxton miscue Series) and lost to the Beefs in five games in 2021. The Tsunami franchise also appeared in the 2004 Series as the Road Warriors, under Marc Bostrom, losing to the Taz Devils in six games.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s